Molecular dynamics three-dimensional simulations of the dispersed system dynamics at the molecular level

Victor Malyshev, Elena Moiseeva, Dmitriy Marin, Nail Gumerov, Constantin Mikhaylenko

Objective:

The molecular dynamics simulations in the application to the study of the bubble nucleation in water under negative pressure in the presence of the nanoscale impurities

Vapor bubble nucleation in water

Water droplet formation in a vacuum

Water droplet on the platinum surface

Molecular dynamics (MD) is a computer simulation of the dynamics of the single-phase and multi-phase systems. It is based on the idea that all the particles follow the trajectories derived from the equations of motion. Molecular dynamics simulations are used for modeling the processes at micro- and nanoscale when the classical continuum models could not be applied because of the extremely small amount of the molecules in the system.

Molecular dynamics simulations require considerable computational resources, dramatically increasing with the growth of the system size. In the direct mathematical formulation, the computations of all the forces acting on the particles require the solving of the system of linear algebraic equations, the amount of which is defined by the number of atoms. It is known, that the algorithmic complexity of the direct method is of the order of magnitude O(N2).

The use of the modern high-performance computational algorithms allow to reduce the complexity. Thus, the computation of the forces, defined by the Lennard-Jones potential, has the complexity O(NlogN) when using the special data structures. The calculations of the far-field forces, defined by the Coulomb potential, can be accelerated using the Fast Multipole method (FMM). FMM allows one to decrease the complexity to O(N). The latter is particularly important for the simulations of the water molecules, because the 3/4 of all the intermolecular interactions are determined by the Coulomb potential.

Further decrease of the computational time is achieved by the use of modern hardware, such as high-performance computing GPU (Graphics Processing Unit, GPU). Currently, the calculations of one time step for a system of 1000000 water molecules take 30 seconds on a personal computer equipped with two Intel Xeon processors and computer graphics card NVidia Tesla 2050. For a characteristic time step of 10 femtoseconds, the computational performance of 1 picoseconds per hour can be achieved for the simulations of a system of one million water molecules.

Prospects:

Further application of the method developed and the software based on it will produce a mathematical modeling of the micro-and nanoscale vapor bubbles nucleation in water in the presence of gold nanoparticles. The results can be used for further experimental study of these processes

Трехмерное моделирование поведения систем на молекулярном уровне методами молекулярной динамики

Малышев В.Л., Моисеева Е.Ф., Марьин Д.Ф., Гумеров Н.А., Михайленко К.И.

Цель:

Применение молекулярно-динамического моделирования для исследования процессов образования пузырьковых зародышей в воде при отрицательном давлении в присутствии наномасштабных примесей

Молекулярная динамика(МД) - метод прямого математического моделирования динамики одно- и многофазных систем. Сводится к решению уравнений движения каждой молекулы среды в потенциальном поле всех остальных молекул. Молекулярная динамика используется на микро- и наномасштабном уровнях, когда применение классических континуальных моделей сплошной среды ограничено малым количеством молекул вещества.

Зарождение парового пузырька в воде
 
 
Образование капли воды в вакууме
Растекание капли воды по поверхности платины

Метод молекулярной динамики требует значительных вычислительных ресурсов, резко увеличивающихся с ростом рассматриваемой системы. В прямой математической постановке, расчет всех сил, действующих на все молекулы, требует решения системы линейных алгебраических уравнений, количество которых определяется числом атомов. Известно, что вычислительная сложность прямого численного решения системы уравнений имеет порядок O(N2).

Применение высокоэффективного современных численных алгоритмов позволяет значительно снизить вычислительную сложность. Так, вычисление сил, определяемых потенциалом Леннарда-Джонса, при использовании специальных структур данных имеет вычислительную сложность O(NlogN). Вычисление сил, определяемых дальнодействующим кулоновским потенциалом, может быть произведено средствами быстрого метода мультиполей (Fast Multipole Method, FMM), позволяющего снизить сложность до O(N). Последнее особенно важно при молекулярно-динамическом моделировании воды, так как 3/4 всех межатомных взаимодействий определяются кулоновским потенциалом.

Дальнейшее сокращение вычислительного времени достигается использованием современных вычислительных систем, таких как высокопроизводительные вычислительные графические процессоры (Graphics Processing Unit, GPU). В настоящее время на расчёт одного шага по времени для системы из 1000000 молекул воды затрачивается 30 секунд на персональном компьютере, оснащенном двумя процессорами Intel Xeon и вычислительной графической картой NVidia Tesla 2050. При характерном шаге по времени порядка 10 фемтосекунд, достижима вычислительная производительность до 1 пикосекунды в час при моделировании системы из одного миллиона молекул воды.

Перспективы:

Использование разработанного метода и основанного на нём программного продукта позволит производить математическое моделирование процессов зарождения и развития микро- и наномасштабных паровых пузырьков в воде в присутствии наночастиц золота. Полученные результаты могут быть использованы при дальнейшем экспериментальном исследовании данных процессов