Direct simulation of 3D emulsion flow in microchannels using the boundary element method

Olga Abramova, Yulia Itkulova, Nail Gumerov

Objective:

Application of boundary element method to study of flow microstructure and to solve wide range of problems on emulsion flows in micro- and nanoscales

Simulation results for dynamics of emulsion droplets in shear flow (a part of computational domain is shown)

The boundary element method (BEM) is a numerical method for solving partial differential equations, which can be represented in the boundary integral form. The BEM in application to a numerical solution of micro- and nanoscale dynamics of dispersed systems problems is more effective then others methods. It is due to the fact that this method enables to reduce the problem dimensionality by one as only the domain boundaries and interfaces are discretized.

 

Direct numerical simulation of 3D flow of two-phase Newton liquid with droplet microstructure in unbounded domain at low Reynolds number. BEM acceleration is achieved using of both advanced scalable algorithm (Fast multipole method, FMM) and heterogeneous computational structures on the base graphics processors (Graphics Processing Unit, GPU).

 

For the first time this approach enables direct calculation of dynamic interaction of 10934 deformable droplets under imposed shear flow. And the run time for this case was about 5 hours for 100 time steps on the one workstation.

  

Flow of emulsion droplets in a cross-section of 3D cylindrical channel
Triangulation of a axisymmetric channel with variable cross section

Problems about flow of one-phase liquid and two-phase emulsion in microchannels with variable cross-section are considered. To improve the accuracy of numerical calculations the BEM was modified on the base of perturbation method. Comparison of obtained numerical results with analytical solution for fluid motion with small droplet concentration shows high accuracy and efficiency of the modified BEM. 

Prospects:

The developed method can be used to establish the closing relations for simulation of two-phase liquid-liquid flow based on the continuum approach in macroscales

Прямое моделирование трехмерных течений эмульсий в микроканалах методом граничных элементов

Абрамова О.А., Иткулова Ю.А., Гумерова Н.А.

Цель:

Применение метода граничных элементов для исследования микроструктуры течений и решения широкого класса задач, связанных с течениями эмульсий в микро- и наномасштабах

Результаты моделирования динамики капель эмульсии в сдвиговом потоке (показана часть расчетной области)

Метод граничных элементов (МГЭ) - метод численного решения дифференциальных уравнений в частных производных, которые записываются в виде граничных интегральных уравнений. Применение метода граничных элементов для численного решения задач микро- и наномасштабной динамики дисперсных систем является более эффективным в смысле вычислительных ресурсов, чем другие численные методы. В первую очередь это связано с тем, что дискретизируются только границы расчетной области и межфазные границы, что уменьшает размерность задачи на единицу.

 

Проведено прямое численное моделирование задачи о трехмерном течении смеси двух ньютоновских жидкостей капельной структуры в неограниченной области при малых числах Рейнольдса. Ускорение МГЭ достигается применением высокоэффективного масштабируемого алгоритма (Fast Multipole Method, FMM) и использованием гетерогенных вычислительных структур на основе графических процессоров (Graphics Processing Unit, GPU).

 

Этот подход позволил впервые в мире напрямую рассчитать динамику взаимодействия 10 934 деформируемых капель (!) в сдвиговом потоке, причем расчет 100 шагов по времени на одной рабочей станции занимает всего 5 часов.

Течение капель эмульсии в сечении трехмерного цилиндрического канала
Триангуляция осесимметричного канала переменного сечения

 

Рассмотрены задачи о течении однофазной жидкости и двухфазной эмульсии в микроканале переменного сечения. Для повышения точности численных расчетов метод граничных элементов был модифицирован на основе метода возмущений. Сравнение полученных численных результатов с частным аналитическим решением для движения смеси с малой концентрацией капель показало высокую точность и эффективность модифицированного МГЭ.

Перспективы:

Использование разработанного метода для установления замыкающих соотношений для моделирования двухфазных течений «жидкость-жидкость» на основе континуального подхода в макромасштабах